Welcome Back Baseball!

Welcome back baseball. I’m not going to lie. I’ve missed you a lot. Spring time is officially here when you arrive (except in Cleveland where it’s still snowing apparently).

If you hadn’t noticed, I like baseball a lot. In fact I love it. Opening Day of every baseball season is a magical time to me. This year was no different. I wish I didn’t have to work and that I could just stay home and watch baseball all day but, I can’t. Like most fans out there I catch what I can.

Now I’m going to make some very broad stroke assumptions about the baseball season based on MLB opening day alone. It’s the sort of thing that you should never try at home because it’s often ineffective but also has the possibility of blowing up in your face.

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. The Reds are going to win the NL Central again. They’re a clutch team. They have the pitching and the bats to get the job done. Dusty Baker is a great manager who is having the time of his life.  It’s a good look for them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Curtis Granderson is going to win himself a gold glove. He is extremely aware of his surroundings and has the speed and skills to match. That diving catch he had on Thursday was awesome. Fun fact: His At-Bat song is Rebecca Black’s “Friday.”

 

 

 

 

 

3. The year of the pitcher isn’t over yet. It just took a break for the summer and is ready to pick up where it left off. This is just an instinct I had after watching Tim Lincecum and Clayton Kershaw go head to head when the Giants played the Dodgers.

These are just some things  that popped into my head as I was watching the games. I’m glad to have baseball back and I hope to have better takes than this over the course of the season. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

